Léa Tremblay Fong

Performer + Choreographer

Votre navigateur internet ne supporte pas les SVGs
Danse contemporaine et mix culturel

Biography

Born and raised in Québec, I am a contemporary dancer and choreographer based in Montreal. In 2011, I graduated from York University with a Honours Double Major in Dance and International Development Studies. While studying, I independently led several interdisciplinary and intercultural dance projects in Toronto and in Israël/Palestine. Since Winter 2012, I pursue my artistic work in Montreal, Beijing, Ramallah and Taipei, and develop an inspiring connection with different branches of hip-hop/street culture. In collaboration with several artists and organizations, I manage, co-direct, choreograph and perform in interdisciplinary creative projects, which I design in and for the public space, in a human-interactive way. Through artistic interventions combining dance and other disciplines, I hope to trigger emotions, reflections and discussions about the arts and society, about what unites or divides us - always with a particular sensitivity for colonial/social/political issues.
I believe that my art becomes meaningful when it connects to people’s lives, and that by democratizing it, sharing it in spaces accessible to all, it will touch a more diverse public. I chose to go against this cultural/institutional habit of confining contemporary dance to indoor private spaces. Instead I meet people in their everyday lives, on the streets, in order to overcome the habits and socio-economic profiles that often keep us apart; aiming for my art - created and presented in outdoors urban spaces - to become part of, and appreciated in their everyday lives.
Vimeo Videos >

Projects

Current Research

In continuing with the artistic research for Insomniaque (see our Facebook page here), I continue to explore and mix contemporary dance, street dance, and different pop culture and music video influences.

I am developing a duo entitled Pelures with Martine Castera. Partnership in the making with Gallery WIP, to develop our next performance there during Summer-Fall 2019, in collaboration with their visual artists. I encourage you to visit and comment on the Pelures Facebook page.

Crédit photo: Phi Nguyen

Past Projects

Pelures

  • creative intensive in July-August 2018 in the context of Nous Sommes L'Été
  • excerpts presented on Mont-Royal avenue, Montréal, for the event RU, August 2018

Insomniaque

  • presented on Prince-Arthur street, Montréal, October 2016 and May 2017

Street dance training in Osaka, Japan, November 2016



Top photo credit: Festival Accès Asie 2017
Dancers, from left to right: Andrea Niño Sarmiento, Marine Rixhon, Léna Demnati, Noémie Dufour-Campeau

Bottom photo credit: Festival Accès Asie 2017
DJ to left: Jacques Boone
Dancers, from left to right: Andrea Niño Sarmiento, Marine Rixhon, Linhnam Tien-Huyn aka Wonka, Martine Castera aka E-Clips, Léa Tremblay Fong, Léna Demnati

Contact: lea.tremblay.fong@gmail.com

Contact

Léa Tremblay Fong


lea.tremblay.fong@gmail.com
+1 514 409-8910
Votre navigateur internet ne supporte pas les SVGs

Léa Tremblay Fong

Interprète + Chorégraphe

Votre navigateur internet ne supporte pas les SVGs
Danse contemporaine et mix culturel

Biographie

D'ascendance chinoise, née et grandie au Québec, je suis chorégraphe et interprète en danse contemporaine. De 2006 à 2011, j’ai complété un Honours Double Major in Dance and International Development Studies à l’Université York, à Toronto. En parallèle, j’ai dirigé plusieurs projets de création multidisciplinaires et interculturels à Toronto et en Israël/Palestine. Depuis l’hiver 2012, je poursuis mon travail artistique à Montréal, Beijing, Ramallah et Taipei, et développe une connection fructueuse avec différentes formes artistiques issues de la rue/hip-hop. En collaboration avec plusieurs artistes et organismes, je gère, co-dirige, chorégraphie et danse dans différents projets de création interdisciplinaires, conçus pour et dans l’espace public, en interaction avec les populations. À travers des performances combinant la danse et d’autres disciplines, je souhaite provoquer des réflexions et discussions critiques en lien avec l’art et la société, ce qui nous rassemble et ce qui nous éloigne.
Je suis convaincue que mon art prend son sens lorsqu’il connecte avec la vie des gens, et qu'en le démocratisant, en le partageant dans des lieux accessibles à tous, il pourra être apprécié par un public diversifié. J’ai choisi d’aller à l’encontre de cette habitude culturelle qui confine la danse contemporaine à des lieux intérieurs payants. Plutôt, j’ai décidé d’aller à la rencontre des gens, dans leurs vies, dans la rue, pour dépasser les habitudes et les profils culturel et socio-économique qui nous séparent trop souvent; pour que mon art, créé et présenté dans les espaces urbains extérieurs, puisse être apprécié dans leur quotidien.
Vimeo Videos >

Projets

Recherche En Cours

En continuité avec la recherche artistique au coeur du projet Insomniaque (voir notre page Facebook ici), je continue à explorer et mixer danse contemporaine, danses de rue et différentes influences de la culture pop/vidéoclips.

Crédit photo: Festival Accès Asie 2017
Danseuses, de gauche à droite: Andrea Niño Sarmiento, Marine Rixhon, Léna Demnati, Noémie Dufour-Campeau

Passé

Insomniaque, rue Prince-Arthur, Montréal, présenté en mai 2017

Entraînement en danses de rue à Osaka, Japon, novembre 2016



Crédit photo: Festival Accès Asie 2017
DJ à gauche: Jacques Boone
Danseurs, de gauche à droite: Andrea Niño Sarmiento, Marine Rixhon, Linhnam Tien-Huyn aka Wonka, Martine Castera aka E-Clips, Léa Tremblay Fong, Léna Demnati

Infos: lea.tremblay.fong@gmail.com

Contact

Léa Tremblay Fong


lea.tremblay.fong@gmail.com
+1 514 409-8910
Votre navigateur internet ne supporte pas les SVGs